實時设计

在耶路撒冷12天

位于耶路撒冷的以色列博物馆是以色列的国家博物馆,也是以色列最负盛名的文化机构。在馆长Alex Ward(艾立克斯·瓦德)的邀请下,karlssonwilker在耶路撒冷度过了充实忙碌的12天。

 

这是我们第三次的沉浸式海外旅行(前两次分别是塞尔维亚12天,南非10天),目的地同样是一个拥有复杂历史的国家。我们受邀为以色列博物馆的建筑与设计部门打造一个实时设计项目,其目标是设计一面展览墙,墙上挂有12个大面幅的作品以及展览期间每一天的摘录和快照。

导览手册:

 

现场提供导览手册,内容包含项目资料以及Alex Ward与Jan Wilker之间的长时间访问内容。

 

A: 我没有期望该项目的最终结果。 对我而言,这是一个非常个性化的“实时”项目,因此与邀请平面设计师设计商业项目截然不同。 这对我们两个人来说都是一场赌博; 最重要的是,我们必须相互信任。 当然,为了尝试做一些与常规不同的事情,我必须深入到深层。

J: 我想感谢你继续这个项目。 对我而言,像我们一起做的项目的简单存在与构成它的实际部分一样重要 – 为我们的平面设计师突出不同的实践领域。 有什么想法吗?

A: 我同意你的看法,像这样的项目给设计师提供了一个难得的机会,可以在正常的商业项目之外进行练习。 希望它还能鼓励年轻一代的平面设计师在这里开展他们自己的项目。

东耶路撒冷与西耶路撒冷的印象
随着项目信息和深度访谈,20页的外卖随时可用

这个项目选用了关于我们对每日经历的评述。平时大众对于设计师的看法是他或她安稳地坐在在办公桌前面,精心打磨每一个细节直到无可挑剔。如之前的实时设计项目,我们通过寻找挑战我们自己的经历,来制作快速,未雕琢,不完美,甚至令人质疑的作品。

第一天和第二天
第三天和第四天
第五天和第六天
第七天和第八天
第九天和第十天
第十一天和第十二天

无论是对该地区宗教信仰的评论或对照目睹的不明飞行物,还是堪称「绝妙」的不敬图像,整个展览都反映了以色列人的日常和他们的经历。下面的视频简要介绍了旅行的范围,每日的互动以及所涉文化的复杂性

Real-Time Design

12 Days in Jerusalem

The Israel Museum in Jerusalem, Israel’s national museum, is the country’s most prestigious cultural institution. Head curator Alex Ward extended an invitation to karlssonwilker to spend 12 eventful days in the nation’s capital.

 

Following 12 days in Serbia and 10 days in South Africa, this was the third of our immersive trips overseas. The destination was another country with a highly complex history. Invited to create a real-time design project for Israel Museum’s department of architecture and design, the goal was an exhibition wall filled with 12 large format pieces, along with excerpts and snapshots of each respective day.

Excerpt of interview with Alex Ward & Jan Wilker:

 

A: I had no expectations for final outcome of the project. For me it is a very personal project in “real time” so it is very different from inviting a graphic designer to design a commercial project. It is a gamble for both of us; most importantly, we must  trust each other. Surely, in order to try and do something different from the norm one has to dive into the deep end.

J: I want to thank you for going ahead with this project. For me the simple existence of a project like the one we did together is just as important as the actual pieces that comprise it—to highlight a different area of practice for us graphic designers. Any thoughts?

A: I agree with you that projects like this one give the designer a rare opportunity to practice outside their normal commercial projects. Hopefully, it will also encourage the young generation of graphic designers here to initiate their own projects.

Impressions of East and West Jerusalem
A 20-page take-away with project information and in-depth interview was readily available

The project featured commentary about the daily experiences that we had. Often, the perception of the designer can be unrealistic, as the designer sits safely at their desk, meticulously crafting every detail of communication to absolute perfection. As stated in previous projects, our real-time projects are about seeking experiences that challenge us to create work that is fast, raw, imperfect, and sometimes questionable.

Day 1 and Day 2
Day 3 and Day 4
Day 5 and Day 6
Day 7 and Day 8
Day 9 and Day 10
Day 11 and Day 12

Whether it was the commentary on the religions in the area juxtaposed with the frequent UFO sightings, to irreverent images defining “sababa,” the exhibition was a collection of everyday observations and experiences that we had during our stay. The video below offers a glance into the scope of the trip, the daily interactions, and the complexity of the cultures involved.