数位
品牌和设计计划
出版物设计

Creative Time(创意时代)

Creative Time(创意时代)杂志已被委托出品了数百个艺术项目,并与纽约市数千名艺术家合作,其中包括从悼念之光、911事件后6个月照亮曼哈顿下城的两道光束、到80年代的艾滋病运动、Jenny Holzer(珍妮·霍尔泽)天桥、Paul Chan(陈保罗)制作的在新奥尔良的Waiting for Godot(等待戈多)等等。

 

在他们成立33周年之际,创意时代杂志委托karlssonwilker为他们的第一次回顾展制作大型庆祝出版物。

Creative Time(创意时代)杂志致力于分享暂时和实验性的公共艺术,而不是永久和意义深远的艺术。在70年代末期,该团体以在空置房地产举办活动而闻名,无论是建筑物大厅或是垃圾填埋场。在政治激进主义崛起的80年代同时,他们则将艺术融入街角、公共汽车的侧面、牛奶盒或外卖咖啡杯。在1993年的一个项目用到了整个42街,在这之后便开始对其进行迪斯尼风格的改造。2004年,Creative Time派出一支艺术家团队重新粉刷Coney Island(康尼岛)的商户的外观。杂志的文章和采访从一个有趣并且带有怀旧感的视角重现了纽约艺术界三十年的风貌。

—Publishers Weekly(出版者周刊)

Audio Commentary Jan and Hjalti with Ann from Creative Time (2:50)
UVRM(城市视觉记录机)在纽约周围行动。
抽象录音可以被破译。

 

在本书的创作中,我们策划了「城市视觉记录机」这个将纽约纪录在纸上的主题,为的是将公众与该书的制作串联起来。我们把机器安装在一辆透明玻璃商用面包车内,配上各种传感器持续记录当时的天气状况、周遭声音、周围流行的色彩、以及路人的故事和交谈等。在一周的时间里,收集的数据经过实时处理,并且每隔30秒在面包车内当场被打印出来,该项目最终累积了共有数千张纽约的合成图像,每张图像都印有确切的位置、时间和日期。最后,这些关于纽约及其居民的抽象快照被送到印刷厂进行调整以作为书本硬封面上的粘附插图,因此每本书都附有由「城市视觉记录机」制作的独一无二的作品。而内封底上的详细介绍可以让读者破译它们各自的纪录。

Creative Time—The Book(创意时代— 书)

我们不仅设计了这本书,还在书中加入了文字和照片,庆祝并评估了公共艺术的当前状态。我们的合伙人Hjalti和Jan花了大量的时间在创意时代杂志的庞大档案库中寻找图像和宣传材料,企图用最震撼人心的方式来讲述这些故事。

海报

Brand & Design Strategy
Digital Design
Publication

Creative Time—The Book

Creative Time has commissioned and produced hundreds of art projects, working with thousands of artists in New York City, from Tribute in Light, the twin beacons of light that illuminated lower Manhattan six months after 9/11, to HIV campaigns in the 80s, Jenny Holzer flyovers, Paul Chan’s production of Waiting for Godot in New Orleans, and much more.

 

For their 33-year anniversary, Creative Time commissioned karlssonwilker to work on their big celebratory publication, their first retrospective.

Creative Time has dedicated itself to public art that is temporary and experimental rather than permanent and monumental. In the late 70s, the group was known for taking over empty real estate, whether a building lobby or a landfill. In the 80s, at a time of rising political activism, they were likely to insert art onto street corners, the sides of buses, milk cartons, or takeout coffee cups. One project in 1993 took over all of 42nd Street, prior to its Disneyfication. In 2004, Creative Time deployed a team of artists to repaint the facades of businesses at Coney Island. The essays and interviews within offer an entertaining, and sometimes nostalgic look at three decades of the New York art scene.

—Publishers Weekly

 

 

Audio Commentary Jan and Hjalti with Ann from Creative Time (2:50)
The UVRM (Urban Visual Recording Machine) in action around New York.
The abstract recordings can be deciphered.

 

For this book, we conceived The Urban Visual Recording Machine as a means of documenting New York on paper, and as a way of connecting the public with the making of this book. The machine was housed in a commercial glassed van and equipped with various sensors that continually recorded such elements as current weather conditions, ambient sound, prevalent surrounding color, as well as stories and comments from passers-by. The data was processed and rendered in real-time and printed out on the spot inside the van every 30 seconds over the course of a week, resulting in thousands of composite images of New York, each imprinted with the exact location, time and date. In the end, these abstract snapshots of New York and its inhabitants were sent to the printing plant to be trimmed and applied as tip-ins to the books’ hard covers. The end result meant that every book bears a one-of-a-kind artifact made by the Urban Visual Recording Machine. A key on the inside back cover allows the reader to decipher their respective recording.

Creative Time—The Book

We designed the book itself, and filled it with text and photographs, celebrating and assessing the current state of public art. Our partners Hjalti and Jan spent many hours in Creative Time’s extraordinary archive to find images and collateral to tell the stories in the most compelling ways.

Poster