品牌和设计计划
动态图形
数位
环境图形设计
出版物设计

Reykjavik Art Museum(雷克雅未克艺术博物馆)

Reykjavik Art Museum(雷克雅未克艺术博物馆)是冰岛最著名的艺术博物馆,它在首都有三个场馆,每一个专注于不同的时代和艺术家。

 

karlssonwilker设计了博物馆新的识别和设计系统,解决了需要同时让本地和国际游客易于理解的问题。因为在过去几年中,博物馆的外国游客比例从5%飙升至近50% 。原本三个博物馆的命名方式、地点和各自的信息传达各不相同,经过多方考量后决定重新命名他们。配合已有的调研,我们决定用一个简单易懂的方式向首次访客、当地民众以及博物馆的长期赞助者们来传达「三合一」的讯息,「三合一」:「一个博物馆,三个地点」

Armann Agnarsson, In-house Designer

「雷克雅未克艺术博物馆与著名的纽约设计工作室karlssonwilker合作,为三个艺术博物馆提供一个有凝聚力的品牌形象新视角,karlssonwilker拥有与生俱来的文化意识,可以与当地民众和国际观众交流。」

—Ólöf Kristín Sigurðardóttir,博物馆馆长

 

 

 

雷克雅未克艺术博物馆标识被提名为2017年度Beazley Designs之一。

 

雷克雅未克艺术博物馆品牌设计曾在平面设计历史,第2卷,Taschen

三角形徽标从三个房屋之间的连接中汲取灵感,当连接在地图上时,三个博物馆形成了与我们创建的徽标非常相似的形状。

Ásmundarsafn

Hafnarhús

Kjarvalsstaðir

我们展开了一个富有创造性的探索过程,首先通过与馆方广泛讨论之后设立了几个项目方针,而后在与博物馆的股东进行额外的会议后,决定使用「三角形」元素作为我们设计的方向。它是一个易于辨认的符号,尤其是作为指示和导向箭头,来引导访客到达不同地点的博物馆和在每个博物馆里引导访客到不同的位置。

使用博物馆第四个角度设计的相关文具商品。
博物馆寻路招牌

图案

 

Initial sketch

品牌形象最终聚焦在一个拉伸的三角形上,它被安装在三个博物馆的两侧。基于这个棱镜般的三角形,我们设计了在所有行销和传播中使用的素材,包括展示板、Reykjavik路边的横幅、广告、商店物品等。这个同时运用二维和三维符号标识的品牌形象程序设计以及博物馆的沟通方式。

在Reykjavik(雷克雅未克)的Miklabraut街道的广告标志。
博物馆展览海报

展览目录

博物馆商品

Hjalti Karlsson抱着新的博物馆商标

在数字化方面,我们重新设计了网站,同时保留大部分的原有内容结构。然而,为了给网站访客提供更好的用户流程,我们把网页分为三个纵列来分别展示三个博物馆,这让用户可以轻松找到在三个不同博物馆地点中举办的不同展览。此外,网站的标志在屏幕上移动,着代表着三个博物馆之间的联系,进而创造一个线上与线下元素之间完整结合的体验。

 

这次设计使用的字体是Dalton Maag(London)。它主要有粗体与细体两种风格,冰岛文使用粗体而英文使用细体。配色方面则采用柔和渐层润饰各种各样的光线变化让人想起北欧的天空。最后,我们替博物馆的内部团队建立了一个资源丰富的样式指南,为他们提供了识别所需的工具。

样式指南是任何品牌重塑过程中的的关键部分,用来确保视觉系统能够简洁的执行,以保障博物馆始终如一地成功呈现其指标。

 

而后我们持续与博物馆合作,为他们提供展览和特别活动的创意指导。

博物馆网站

Brand & Design Strategy
Digital Design
Environmental Graphics
Motion Graphics
Publication

Reykjavik Art Museum

The Reykjavík Art Museum is the preeminent art museum in Iceland, with three locations across the capital, each focusing on different decades and artists.

 

karlssonwilker developed the Museum’s new identity and design system, which needed to speak to both local and international audiences. In previous years, the percentage of foreign visitors to the museum had surged from five percent to nearly fifty. The names of the three museums, their locations, and individual communications were inconsistent, and consideration was given to renaming them altogether. This, along with existing research suggested the identity to communicate a “three as one” message, in a simple, easy to understand manner to first-time visitors as well as locals and long-term patrons of the museum—“three as one”—as in “one museum, three locations.”

“The Reykjavik Art Museum partnered with prominent New York-based design studio karlssonwilker inc. to offer a fresh perspective on the development of a cohesive brand identity for its three art museums. karlssonwilker has an inherent cultural awareness which speaks to both local and international audiences”.

—Ólöf Kristín Sigurðardóttir,
Museum Director

 

 

 

The Reykjavik Art Museum Identity was nominated as one of the Beazley Designs of the Year 2017.

 

The Reykjavik Art Museum Identity was been featured on The History of Graphic Design Vol.2., Taschen.

The triangular-shaped logo drew inspiration from the connection between the three houses, when connected on the map, the three museums form a very similar shape to the logo that we created.

Ásmundarsafn

Hafnarhús

Kjarvalsstaðir

We launched a creative exploratory phase which produced several project directions that were discussed extensively with the client. After additional sessions with the museum’s stakeholders and designer Armann Agnarsson, the “triangle” direction was the clear choice. An identifiable symbol that acts as an indicator and directive arrow, it leads visitors to each of the museums and is featured within each location.

Stationery items using the fourth, Museum-wide angle.
Museum Wayfinding

Patterns

 

Initial sketch

The final brand identity focuses on the extruded triangle, with the Museum’s three locations placed on its sides. Based on that prism, we created patterns that were implemented across all marketing and communication materials, inclusive of signage, banners across Reykjavik, advertising, store items, and other items. The identity uses both bi-dimensional and 3D logotype for programming and the Museum communications.

Signage, to be installed along Miklabraut street in Reykjavik
Exhibition Poster Series

Programming Brochures

Store Items

Hjalti Karlsson holding the new logo

Digitally, we redesigned the website, maintaining most of the previous content structure. However, to provide visitors with a better user-flow, we divided the website into three main columns, referring to each museum separately, so that users could easily find what is happening in the three different spaces. The website logo moves across the screen, indicating the connection between the three museums, creating a fully integrated feel between online and offline elements.

 

The typeface used is Activ Grotesk (Dalton Maag, London). It is used mostly in two styles, Bold and Light; Bold is used contextually for Icelandic language, and Light for English. The color scheme uses faint pastel gradients, reminiscent of the Nordic skies that offer a wide range of ever-so-slightly changing light.

Finally, we created a resourceful style guide for the museum’s in-house team, providing them with the tools to implement the identity. The style guide is a key piece to any re-branding effort, ensuring the visual system is executed concisely, making sure the museum presents itself consistently and successfully.

 

We continue to work with the museum, providing them with creative direction for exhibitions and special events.

Museum Website