动态图形
品牌和设计计划
数位
环境图形设计
文化和企业品牌设计

Museum of the Moving Image(动态影像博物馆)

karlssonwilker与博物馆的合作始于为其年度「致敬」宴会重新设计素材。这场正装宴会除了为该行业的杰出人士颁发终身成就奖,它还作为一项筹款活动来支持博物馆的青年推广与教育项目。在活动结束后,我们受邀接手为正在翻新的旧馆、博物馆全新的65,000平方英尺的扩建和一个庭院进行品牌重塑,标志和导向系统的设计。

在2011年装修之前,每年的参观人数为9万人,而目前为25万人。为了2016年博物馆开幕使用的50英尺长新的Herbert S. Schlosser媒体墙,我们制作了「Vicissitudes」的音频视频投影。随着时间的推移,我们将为这个不断扩大的…添增更多的虚拟宇宙。

 

 

 

Audio Commentary Hjalti & Jan with Rochelle Slovin, former director of MoMI (0:22)
Leeser Architecture外部建筑扩建的模型图
博物馆大厅
博物馆外观
随着自然光线的变化,博物馆内部的氛围也随之改变。
博物馆外部面向西方的标志

我们的团队与博物馆馆长以及此改造计划的Leeser Architecture(利瑟建筑)里的建筑师密切合作。博物馆新的后立面长约200英尺,使用1,067个三角形面板作为表面图案。这些薄铝面板安装在底下的支撑结构上,让光线和雨水能够透过,并运用浅蓝色金属的扩展间断碎片之间的负空间。这成为以三种字体作为排版设计的起点,扩展到博物馆的商标、宣传素材、展览文字和博物馆商店贩售的独家商品,商品包括从T恤、印有不敬电影场景的马克杯,到导向系统、捐赠墙、门票和菜单。此外,考量到博物馆内部的设计团队,我们决定使用三种不同的排版语言让其可以轻松地在各式媒介中识别,除了原有的三种特定标题字体(Daily, Alternate Ending, and Directors Cut)之外,还使用了Benton Sans(The Font Bureau, Boston)字体。

大厅的广告萤幕墙展示即将上映的博物馆节目
由Cindy Sirko设计特制帷幔的主剧院

Museum of the Moving Image(动态影像博物馆)坐落在皇后区Astoria(阿斯托里亚)一条绿树成荫的宁静大道上,这是一个喜欢希腊食物胜于黄金时代无声电影的纽约社区。

 

 

尽管Astoria似乎不太适合这个美国唯一的动态影像博物馆,但纽约市这个安静的角落长期以来一直是艺术的温床,博物馆占据了Paramount Picture(派拉蒙影业公司)前东岸总部的十三座建筑之一,其中第一部马克思兄弟的电影便是在此制作完成,虽然派拉蒙影业公司早已搬至西岸,但Kaufman Film Studios(考夫曼电影制片公司)仍继续在这里制作电影和电视节目。

展览设计

博物馆商品、目录、和请帖

 

新的入口除了加设博物馆商店和咖啡厅之外,还增设了一个拥有267个座位的高档剧院和一个拥有68个座位的放映室。而主要展览室的「幕后」则获得了完整的技术和艺术改造,为了改造展览室,更创建了一个新的主画廊和额外的视频艺术空间。

用于博物馆品牌重塑的各种字体元素。
展览海报的初稿
博物馆的网站
Christopher Plummer饰演Kevin Spacey在MOMI举办活动

Brand & Design Strategy
Cultural & Corporate Branding
Digital
Environmental Graphics
Motion Graphics

Museum of the Moving Image

karlssonwilker’s work with the Museum began by redesigning the materials for their annual “Salute.” This black-tie gala presents a lifetime achievement award to a leading member of the industry. It also serves as a fundraiser to support the Museum’s youth outreach and educational programs. Following the work with the event, we were asked to take on the museum’s rebranding in tandem with the signage and wayfinding for the renovation of the existing building and construction of the museum’s new 65,000 square-foot extension and courtyard.

Before renovation in 2011, annual attendance was at 90,000. It currently stands at 250,000. To inaugurate the Museum’s new 50-foot-long Herbert S. Schlosser Media Wall in 2016, we created the audio-video projection “Vicissitudes.” Over time, we will add more virtual universes to this ever-expanding project.

 

 

 

Audio Commentary Hjalti & Jan with Rochelle Slovin, former director of MoMI (0:22)
Architectural rendering of the expansion exterior from Leeser Architecture.
Museum Lobby
Building facade
As the natural light changes, so does the atmosphere of the Museum’s interior.
Exterior museum signage facing west

Our team worked closely with the museum director and the architect for this project, Leeser Architecture. The new rear façade of the Museum, about 200 feet long, features a surface pattern of 1,067 triangular panels. These thin aluminum panels are mounted on an underlying support structure, allowing light and rain to filter through. The expanse of light blue metal is punctuated by the negative space between the pieces. This became the starting point for the typography that resulted in three fonts and extended to the Museum’s logo, marketing materials, exhibition text, and exclusive merchandise for the Museum’s store. These items range from t-shirts and mugs with irreverent film references, to wayfinding and donor wall, tickets, and menus. This approach had the in-house design team in mind, so as to be easy to implement the identity across a variety of mediums by utilizing the three different typographic voices. Apart from the three custom headline fonts: Daily, Alternate Ending, and Director’s Cut, Benton Sans (The Font Bureau, Boston) is also used.

Lobby display screens advertising upcoming Museum programming.
Main theater with custom drapery designed by Cindy Sirko.

In addition to a new entrance, a museum store, and a café, a 267-seat high-end theater and a 68-seat screening room were added. The core exhibition, “Behind the Screen,” received a complete technological and artistic overhaul. For changing exhibitions, a major new gallery and additional video art spaces were created.

The Museum of the Moving Image sits on a tranquil tree-lined avenue in Astoria, Queens, a neighborhood that New Yorkers associate more with Greek food than with the golden age of silent film. Astoria may seem an unlikely locale for the only institution of its kind in the United States, but this quiet corner of New York City has long been an artistic hotbed. The Museum occupies one of the thirteen buildings that comprised Paramount Picture’s former East Coast headquarters where the first of the Marx brothers’ films were produced. Though Paramount has long since moved west, Kaufman Film Studios continues to produce film and television in the complex.

Exhibition Design

Store Items, Catalogs, and Invitations

 

In addition to a new entrance, a museum store, and a café, a 267-seat high-end theater and a 68-seat screening room were added. The core exhibition, “Behind the Screen,” received a complete technological and artistic overhaul. For changing exhibitions, a major new gallery and additional video art spaces were created.

Typeface used for various elements of the Museum's rebranding.
Early mockups of exhibition posters
Museum Website
Christopher Plummer as Kevin Spacey hosting an event at MOMI