實時设计

在南非10天

Design Indaba是一个位于南非的组织,它通过设计和创造力来激发和鼓舞人们创造一个更美好的未来。karlssonwilker的合伙人Hjalti和Jan在塞尔维亚成功进行实时设计冒险之后,(这里),受邀再次前往南非踏上沉浸式海外设计之旅。我们访问了三个城市和四个乡镇,进行了一次公路旅行,品尝了11种不同的肉类,这使我们充分体验了当地文化。

 

我们每天都在与人的交谈、食物、饮料、艺术和工艺市场、或是在清晨爬开普敦狮子头中度过。在受到每一天多采多姿的生活启发之后,我们在当天创作出的新设计。这些设计包含以使用传统图案作为基础的信息图表,或是将三种著名的本土花卉融合设计成一种巨型花卉。此外,我们很荣幸在两个乡镇举办研讨会,在这些研讨会中,我们遇到了迄今为​​​​​​止最投入也最开明的参与者。

 

每一次的实时设计冒险都让我们有机会跨出安全舒适的工作室,走进不可预见的现实世界中,因为设计师本身受到的教育期许就是改变和具体化现实层面。透过触摸、感受和融入文化,发自内心的将感受直接转换为令人怯步也令人兴奋的设计。在这次旅行中,我们深刻体会「设计师眼中的当地人」的这个说法。

每一次的实时设计冒险都让我们有机会跨出安全的工作室,走进不可预见的现实层面,因为设计师本身受到的教育期许就是改变和具体化现实层面。透过触摸、感受和融入文化,发自内心的将感受直接转换为令人怯步也令人兴奋的设计。在这次旅行中,我们深刻体会「设计师眼中的当地人」的这个说法。

 

这里的内容描述了我们在南非的实时设计冒险的过程。

第一天和第三天

第四天和第六天

第七天和第八天
第十天

我们没有去野生动物园,所以我们使用了一个小旅游摊位,在那里他们可以拍摄各种野生动物场景。 这成为我们第10天的作品,这是我们通过美丽和恼人的南非巡回演出的最后一天。

 

我们在开普敦的Design Indaba会议上向4,000名现场观众展示了我们的“发现”。 我们永远不会忘记充满礼堂的即时反应,有时是蟋蟀,有时还会有热烈的掌声。 演讲结束后,所有观众都收到了海报。 那天每个人都开心,特别是我们。

Click here to
hear
what we
do!
The
Spoken Portfolio®
is back!

Print

10 Days in South Africa

Design Indaba is a South African organization that inspires and empowers people to create a better future through design and creativity. Hjalti and Jan were invited after their successful real-time design adventure in Serbia to South Africa for another immersive design trip overseas. We visited three cities, four townships, went on a road trip, and tasted 11 different kinds of meat, all the while fully engrossing ourselves in the culture.

Each day was full of conversations, food, drink, Muti markets, and an early morning climb on Cape Town’s Lions’ Head. Our chock-full days and nights led to a new piece of design every day, an immediate response to that day’s experience. The pieces created ranged from the use of traditional patterns as a basis for infographics, to an amalgam of three well-known indigenous flowers into one super-mega flower. Additionally, we had the privilege of giving workshops, where the attendees were by far the most engaged and open participants that we’ve ever encountered.

Every single one of these real-time design adventure series allowed us the opportunity to leave the safety of our studio behind and embrace the unforeseeable and raw realities that designers have been educated to even out and objectify. Touching, feeling, and tasting the culture, and transforming that into an immediate visceral response is as daunting as it is exhilarating. The phrase “Designer’s eye for the local guy” was mentioned to us on this trip.

Day 1 and Day 3

Day 4 and Day 6

Day 7 and Day 8
Day 10

We didn’t make it to a safari park, so we used a little tourist stand where they Photoshop you into various wildlife scenes. This became our piece for Day 10, the last day of our tour-de-force through beautiful South Africa.

We presented our “findings” in front of a live audience of 4,000 at the Design Indaba conference in Cape Town. We will never forget the reactions that filled the auditorium, sometimes with crickets, sometimes with roaring applause. After the talk, all audience members received posters. Everyone left happy that day, especially us.